top of page

From Germany to Futures

Hello. I'm Jasmin, I'm from Germany and I'm in the US since August. I go to Futures High School for one semester to make new experiences because your school is so different from my school in Germany.

The biggest differences are the building and the subjects. My school has five stories and every student has twelve to fourteen different subjects. Also my school is from fifth to twelfth grade. In Germany we don't have the same schedule every day. You have every subject from one to three hours a week and some subjects like German, English and math are four hours a week. Usually you have five to seven hours a day. Furthermore, one period is usually for forty five minutes but my school has sixty minutes like FHS.

Every student has to learn at least two foreign languages. The first language is English and you can choose your second language. Usually it's Latin or French. If you want to, you can learn more foreign languages like Spanish, Italian, or Russian, but it depends on the school.

One thing I like in German schools is when a teacher is absent, the students sometimes have an hour free and can go outside or somewhere else. So I believe there are more differences and both schools have advantages and disadvantages. But I'm looking forward to making new experiences and to learn more about a different country, but I am also looking forward to going back to Germany and seeing my friends and family again.

Who's Behind The News
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page