top of page

First Annual FHS Student Art Gallery

Ms. Senge and her students created an incredible gallery for students and staff at Futures High School to enjoy. Teachers/staff had the following affirmations:

"How do I even begin to affirm Ms. Senge and all of her art students for the wonderful exhibit? Such an impressive display of talent and creativity." ~Dr. Ettner

"Our students are amazing and brilliantly talented. I was mind blown and impressed… I think we need to let other public galleries see our students’ talent." ~Ms. Noorani

"Awesome! Will any of the items be for sale?" ~Mr. Stewart

"Way to go, Ms. Senge!" ~Ms. Ferderber

"Good job Ms. Senge!" ~Ms. Vovnyuk

"Awesome!" ~Mr. Clough

"The exhibit is beautiful! Job well done!" ~Ms. Davis

Ms. Senge and her students had the following to say about the exhibit and their experiences in Art this year:

KV: What are your thoughts about how the exhibit turned out?

Ms. Senge: It completely exceeded all of my expectations. Seeing all of my students’ artwork completed and displayed really showed me how much time and effort they put into it and I am so proud of all of them. It was exactly what I was hoping for.

KV: How do you feel the students who viewed the exhibit appreciated the work?

Ms. Senge: I think a lot of students got to see art in new ways, like through the Fine Art by the Advanced Students. Every piece was different and had different meanings and stories, while the works by the Beginning Students taught a good amount of art history. I would also like to extend a thank you out to all of the teachers who praised the artwork – the students heard your compliments, and it really boosted them.

KV: What surprised you this year as you taught Art at Futures High School?

Ms. Senge: How talented most of my students were, and how much many of them appreciate and value art. It was a breath of fresh air, and watching their growth was the most rewarding part.

KV: What plans are you excited about for next year?

Ms. Senge: Most of our projects will stay the same, but I’m excited to change the entire process for Ceramics and adding more college-level projects to Advanced Art. Overall there will be more art than this year, and I’m excited to see what gets created next year.

KV: What about Art did you learn this year that surprised you?

Louie S. (Beginning Ceramics): Everything has meaning; from the type of canvas, to the dimensions, to the colors.

Eva M. (Beginning Art): Something that I learned this year that surprised me was how one silly little mistake could change your project as a whole.

KV: What are your thoughts and feelings about participating in the exhibit?

Louie S. (Beginning Ceramics): It was fun- there were a lot of projects that surprised me because I didn’t realize our students had so much skill.

Eva M. (Beginning Art): It feels amazing to be a part of something so amazing as the art gallery, and it’s something I’ll definitely never forget.

KV: What benefits have you experienced by taking an Art class?

Louie S. (Beginning Ceramics): I developed more fine-motor skills because I had to be pretty detailed with my work, and I developed a better eye for color.

Eva M. (Beginning Art): The benefits of taking an art class is that I’m actually able to do my own art for projects in different classes instead of asking my sister or mom. It has also allowed me to realize the importance of art in the world.

KV: In what ways will you pursue Art in the future?

Louie S. (Beginning Ceramics): I’m planning to dabble more with oil paints (something I didn’t do this year) and learn how to make more perfect pottery because I’d want to actually use what I created.

Eva M. (Beginning Art): I don’t think I’ll use Art as part of my job, but I’ll definitely apply the things I learned in here because we learned many great important things. I also will draw and paint in my free time because this class has been the most fun class I’ve ever taken.

Thank you Ms. Senge for providing such a wonderful opportunity for our students!

Who's Behind The News
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page