top of page

FHS Students Serving in Sac at WEAVE

Students from the FHS Service Learning class went to WEAVEworks in Sacramento to serve today. WEAVEworks is a boutique-style shop of recycled clothes that serves two purposes. Victims of abuse are able to find clothes and other items that will help them as they escape abuse. Also, the shop is open to the public, and the money earned goes to assist those in need by funding WEAVE's programs.

Shop manager and Director of Retail Operations, DeWana Ljung, first explained to the students the mission of WEAVE to assist women and men who are fleeing abuse.

The students were then taught a variety of tasks and assisted in receiving donations, sorting, tagging clothes, bringing clothes to the sales floor, etc. Ms. Ljung and her staff were very appreciative of how hard the students worked and all they accomplished.

The students had the following to say about the experience:

Evelyn Panasenko: "This experience helped our class make a difference in people's lives. I was planning on working at a clothing store over the summer, so this experience helped me know more about sorting, pricing, and hanging clothes in a store."

Dennis Butenko: "I felt really happy after going. Doing something for the community really makes me feel good."

Dana Kolomiyets: "It was a very interesting experience and it was very helpful for the people there. Got to experience something that I would have never done on my own time."

Alex Adamko: "I got a new perspective on how it feels to help people without getting any gain for it."

Anastasiya Kistol: "I think this kind of community experience is needed. It puts the class together to work. It unites us in a way which makes it more fun to do this kind of volunteer work. Also, this is an opportunity to help our people in our community."

Irina Ivanova: "It was a nice experience. I'm used to dealing with clothes, but the fact I did it for a cause made it worth the pain from standing more than I'm used to."

Paul Ustyak: "I felt really helpful to other people. Helping other people makes me smile."

Ruth Klimashenko: "Very interesting. I felt like I'm actually a part of a change."

Karina Kushner: "I felt like I was helping a lot of women out there that are in abusive relationships to have a good shopping experience."

If you are interested in serving (or shopping) at WEAVE works, here is their contact information: WEAVEworks 2401 Arden Way, Sacramento, CA (916) 643-4606

Who's Behind The News
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page